Camping equipment

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

I'm new to camping in Hong Kong and I'm looking for camping equipment stores – not too expensive – any suggestions? I've also roamed SZ and GZ but seems there is little choice though I did find a very good 3-person tent in GZ for $160. :laugh:

Added by Martin:

Outdoorplay.com - Free Shipping on ALL orders

Camping gear at Outdoorplay.com – Free shipping!

Hi Andy:

Welcome to HK Outdoors!

I rarely camp, have little gear, so don’t know so much re the stores.
      But one store I sometimes use – as has fair range of gear, plus an outlet that’s convenient for me (in Wanchai), is ProTrek.
      Info on the company: [ul]http://www.protrek.com.hk/aboutus.htm[/ul]

Maybe others can suggest more shops; I’ve some memories of street in Mong Kok where there are several outdoors shops; quick google search, and seems this is Fa Yuen Street.
      (I must go and check it out, add to Need to Know Basics).

Hope you find a good store, and report back to us.

Cheers,
      Martin

Anonymous

I’ve been purchasing from several shops quite close to each other in the street off Argyle street – street parallel to sports shop street which is parallel to ‘womens street’. Make sure that you compare the prices as I have made a mistake of purchasing something and then seeing the same item in a near by shop for 15% less!

Anonymous

Try RC Outfitters near Exit D2 Mongkok. They have a whole range of camping gear, reasonably priced.

Anonymous

I’m also a new comer here.
            Hope this one will be useful to you.
            My friend recommended this to me.

www dot opentip.com/index.php?cPath=1_4_11_2128_2136

Post edited by: martin, at: 2005/11/18 02:00

hmm, this thread had covered stores in Hong Kong; the above looks like a spam post about an online, US site

Anyone wanting gear online via hkoutdoors might instead try:

Camping books and gear from Amazon US

or