2 Day Camping Trip (ADVICE NEEDED)

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hi all,

I’m new to HK and love the outdoors. My girlfriend and I were thinking about a 2 day 1 night camping trip over the CNY period; I’m guessing the trails should be rather empty then.

From the reviews and feedback I’ve gotten, I’m leaning towards the eastern part of NT. Start somewhere near Ma On Shan and end up in Sai Wan village

A couple of questions:

1) Is the above feasible?
      2) If it is, how should I go about doing it? I have been looking for trail maps and the sorts but have not been able to find anything. Any assistance here would be great.
      3) For the amount of time we’re talking about, would any of you recommend? We’re not adverse to spending another day out there if there is something great we should not miss.

Thanks so much for your time.

Cheers
      Kenneth

Hi Kenneth:

That’s a fair distance to cover with camping gear, I think – tho someone like Charlie may advise on this.
      Maybe take it easier for an early outing in HK – could camp at Ngong Ping, west of Ma On Shan.

Not sure trails will be so quiet over CNY.

There are great maps in Countryside Series from hk govt – Central Post Office among places to try for these; if not, Murray Building near lower Peak Tram stn, or some bookshops.

Hope this helps.

Martin

Oh – and, of course, my hiking guide Hong Kong Pathfinder could be a boon during your stay ;)

Post edited by: Martin, at: 2007/02/02 13:58

Anonymous

Hi Kenneth …

If you around at each weekend of CNY, then see the post of Tung Ping Chau … I’m sure you and your g/f would love a night there

Tom

Anonymous

Martin: Cheers for the heads up. I’ve just bought maps for the area from the Maps Dept, didn’t realised they had an office right opposite mine.